It’s an unusually beautiful July morning, so here’s a beautiful quasi-outdoor space! This is the Orangery at Dumbarton Oaks. Constructed between 1805-1812, it was linked to the main house in the 1860s.
When the property’s best-known owners, Robert and Mildred Bliss, later purchased the site, Frederick Brooke renovated the Orangery. Landscape architect Beatrix Farrand incorporated the building into her garden design. She wrote that it was a “charming” building, a still popular opinion today.
When the Blisses lived here, the Orangery was an entertaining space. Today it is both a distribution point into the property’s gardens, and a greenhouse in the winter. #preservedc